

## DESTE Prize 2007

## JURY ANNOUNCEMENT

This year was a particularly strong showing for the DESTE Prize.

The Prize has been awarded to **Loukia Alavanou** whose video work displays a lightness of touch in its frank embrace of the strange, its mordant humor, and its witty mining of cinematic references.

Inspired by historical animation techniques, Loukia weaves narratives that transform a familiar Disney image into a surrealistic nightmare or fantasy. Visually rich, Loukia's work displays a facility with her craft that we look forward to seeing develop.

The Jury members of the DESTE Prize 2007: Dakis Joannou, President, DESTE Foundation Pawel Althamer, Artist Laura Hoptman, Curator, New Museum of Contemporary Art Hans Ulrich Obrist, Co-Director Exhibitions & Programmes and Director of International Projects, Serpentine Gallery Amanda Sharp, Publishing Director, Frieze Magazine & co-director, The Frieze Art Fair