



Athens, September 15, 2011

## ANNOUNCEMENT DESTE PRIZE 2011 - AWARD CEREMONY

The DESTE Foundation is pleased to announce the winner of the DESTE Prize 2011.

During the Award Ceremony which took place yesterday, Wednesday September 14 2011, at the Museum of Cycladic Art, this year's Prize was awarded to **Anastasia Douka**. The Jury made the following announcement:

"It has been our privilege to serve as jurors for the 2011 DESTE Prize. Now in its seventh iteration, the Prize has gained international recognition as a primary means through which the art world greater knowledge of the best work being produced today by artists of Greek descent.

This year's DESTE Prize includes a strong and highly diverse group of artists whose concerns span the personal and universal, while the media employed are equally varied. We enjoyed speaking with each of the artists and thank them for their thoughtful submissions.

After a long deliberation, the Prize this year is awarded to ANASTASIA DOUKA for their overall body of work. Douka's sculptural works draw on multiple references including architecture, industrial products, and known stories, which she re-deploys in a fresh manner bespeaking an independence of spirit and level of ambition."

The DESTE Prize was established in 1999 and is awarded every two years to a Greek artist living in Greece or abroad. The Prize aims to showcase the work of a new and emerging generation of artists and it is an integral part of the Foundation's policy for supporting and promoting contemporary art in Greece.

The show of this the DESTE Prize 2011 shortlisted artists - Alexandra Bachzetsis,

Anastasia Douka, Irini Miga, Eftihis Patsourakis, Theodoros Stamatogiannis and

Yiannis Varelas – will be on view at the Museum of Cycladic Art through October 30, 2011.

**Exhibition Opening Hours:** 

Monday – Wednesday – Friday – Saturday 10:00 – 17:00

Thursday 10:00 - 20:00

Sunday 11:00 - 17:00

Tuesdays Closed

**DESTE Prize 2011 Jury**:

Dakis Joannou - President, The Deste Foundation; Madeleine Grynsztejn - Director,

Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago; Kasper Koenig – Director, Museum Ludwig Kolh;

Jessica Morgan - Curator, Tate Modern, London; Sarah Thornton - Journalist; Andro

Wekua – Artist.

**DESTE Prize 2011 Selection Committee:** 

Polina Kosmadaki – Curator, Benaki Museum; Nikos Navrides – Artist (DESTE Prize 2003

shortlist); Dimitris Palaiokrassas – Art Historian, Art Consultant; Iasonas Tsakonas –

Collector, REMAP founder; Stelios Vellis – Journalist; Yerasimos Yannopoulos –

Collector

\* For more information, please contact the DESTE Foundation:

DESTE Foundation 11 Filellinon & Em. Pappa St. Nea Ionia

Athens 142 34

tel: +30 210 2758490 email: <u>info@deste.gr</u>