DESTE, ATHENS 19.6.2005-27.8.2005

The DESTE Prize was established in 1999 and is awarded biennially to a Greek or Cypriot artist living in Greece or abroad. The prize aims to showcase an emerging generation of artists and is integral to the foundation’s policy of supporting and promoting contemporary art.

The six short-listed artists for the DESTE Prize 2005 – Dora Economou, Dimitris Foutris, Christodoulos Panayiotou, Poka-Yio, Stafanos Tsivopoulos, Costis Velonis –present their work in spaces that have been specially arranged for this occasion at the DESTE Foundation’s Center for Contemporary Art. For this year’s DESTE Prize, the foundation has organized a three-day event under the general title, “Artists of the 4th DESTE Prize Present Themselves,” during which each artist is invited to present their own work to the public, through talks and open discussions, projections, or performances.

An international jury of five will select and announce the winner of this year’s DESTE Prize on September 20, 2005. The winner receives the amount of €10.000.

Orestis Doumanis, Publisher and Director, Design & Art in Greece and Architecture in Greece magazines
Christoforos Marinos, Art Critic; Curator
Gregory Papadimitriou, Collector
Maria Papadimitriou, Artist
Yiannis Toumazis, Director, The Nicosia Municipal Arts Center
Augustine Zenakos, Art Critic, To Vima newspaper

Nicolas Bourriaud, Co-Director, Palais de Tokyo, Paris
Urs Fischer, Artist
Dakis Joannou, President, DESTE Foundation for Contemporary Art
Pauline Karpidas, Collector
Scott Rothkopf, Senior Editor, Artforum magazine

Sponosored by Cosmoline and Alpha Television Network

  • Christodoulos Panayiotou
  • Stefanos Tsivopoulos
  • Kostis Velonis