MUSEUM OF CYCLADIC ART, ATHENS 14.3.2009-30.9.2009

The DESTE Prize was established in 1999 and is awarded biennially to a Greek or Cypriot artist living in Greece or abroad. The prize aims to showcase an emerging generation of artists and is integral to the foundation’s policy of supporting and promoting contemporary art.

The six shortlisted artists for the DESTE Prize 2009 – Athanasios Argianas, Eirene Efstathiou, Haris Epaminonda, Rallou Panagiotou, Yorgos Sapountzis, and Vangelis  Vlachos – will show their work in an exhibition that is to be presented this year in the spaces of the Museum of Cycladic Art. This collaboration between the DESTE Foundation and the Museum of Cycladic Art is part of the latter’s “Young Views” program, which aims at launching a dialogue with a younger generation, keeping the public up to date with the latest developments in contemporary cultural production, and ensuring the dynamic presence of a space for the exchange of ideas.

An international jury of five will select and announce the winner of this year’s DESTE Prize on September 14, 2009. The winner receives the amount of €10.000.


The 2011 DESTE Prize was awarded to Eirene Efstathiou.

Sotiris Bachtsetzis, Curator; Art Historian
Xenia Kalpaktsoglou, Curator; Co-director, Athens Biennial
Alexandra Koroxenidi, Art Historian; Regular Contributor, Kathimerini Newspaper (English Edition)
Sandra Marinopoulos, President, N. P. Goulandris Foundation, Athens
Stefanos Tsivopoulos, Artist; DESTE Prize 2005 shortlist

Jeffrey Deitch, Deitch Projects, New York, NY
Dakis Joannou, President, DESTE Foundation for Contemporary Art
Lisa Phillips, Director, New Museum of Contemporary Art, New York, NY
Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudegno, President, Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo Per L’ Arte, Turin
Thomas Struth, Artist

Originated by the DESTE Foundation in collaboration with the Museum of Cycladic Art

  • Athanasios Argianas
  • Yorgos Sapountzis
  • Vangelis Vlahos