DESTE, ATHENS 25.5.2007-2.11.2007

The DESTE Prize was established in 1999 and is awarded biennially to a Greek or Cypriot artist living in Greece or abroad. The prize aims to showcase an emerging generation of artists and is integral to the foundation’s policy of supporting and promoting contemporary art.

The Selection Committee convened on February 12th and reached its decision after thoroughly examining all submitted material, which proved rich in both morphological and ideological diversity. The six shortlisted artists for the DESTE Prize 2007 are Loukia Alavanou, Nikos Arvanitis, Savvas Christodoulides, Socrates Fatouros, Yiannis Grigoriadis, and Eleni Kamma. Each artist will show their work in an exhibition that is to be presented this year at the DESTE Foundation’s Center for Contemporary Art.

An international jury of five will select and announce the winner of this year’s DESTE Prize on September 24, 2007. The winner receives the amount of €10.000.


The 2009 DESTE Prize was awarded to Loukia Alavanou.

Nadja Argyropoulou, Independent Curator
Harry David, Collector
Elpida Karaba, Art Critic; Curator
Margarita Pournara, Journalist, Kathimerini newspaper
Kostis Velonis, Artist; DESTE Prize 2005 shortlist
Despina Zefkili, Art Critic, Athinorama magazine

Pawel Althamer, Artist
Laura Hoptman, Curator, New Museum of Contemporary Art, New York, NY
Dakis Joannou, President, DESTE Foundation for Contemporary Art
Hans Ulrich Obrist, Co-Director of Exhibitions & Programs and Director of International Projects, Serpentine Gallery, London
Amanda Sharp, Publisher, Frieze magazine

  • Loukia Alavanou
  • Nikos Arvanitis
  • Savvas Christodoulides
  • Socrates Fatouros
  • Yiannis Grigoriadis