MUSEUM OF CYCLADIC ART, ATHENS 25.5.2011-30.10.2011

The DESTE Prize was established in 1999 and is awarded biennially to a Greek or Cypriot artist living in Greece or abroad. The prize aims to showcase an emerging generation of artists and is integral to the foundation’s policy of supporting and promoting contemporary art.

The six shortlisted artists for the DESTE Prize 2011 – Alexandra Bachzetsis, Anastasia Douka, Irini Miga, Eftihis Patsourakis, Theodoros Stamatogiannis, and Jannis Varelas –show their work in an exhibition that is hosted for the second time by the Museum of Cycladic Art. This collaboration between the DESTE Foundation and the Museum of Cycladic Art is part of the latter’s “Young Views” program, which aims at launching a dialogue with a younger generation, keeping the public up to date with the latest developments in contemporary cultural production, and ensuring the dynamic presence of a space for the exchange of ideas.

An international jury of six will select and announce the winner of this year’s DESTE Prize on September 14, 2011. The winner receives the amount of €10.000.


The 2011 DESTE Prize was awarded to Anastasia Douka.

Polina Kosmadaki, Curator, Benaki Museum, Athens
Nikos Navridis, Artist; DESTE Prize 2003 shortlist
Dimitris Palaiokrassas, Art historian; Art consultant
Iason Tsakonas, Collector; Founder, Remap
Stelios Vellis, Journalist
Yerasimos Yannopoulos, Collector

Madeleine Grynsztejn, Director, Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), Chicago, IL
Dakis Joannou, President, DESTE Foundation for Contemporary Art
Kasper König, Director, Museum Ludwig, Köln
Jessica Morgan, Curator, Tate Modern, London
Sarah Thornton, Journalist; Writer
Andro Wekua, Artist

  • Alexandra Bachzetsis
  • Eftihis Patsourakis
  • Theodoros Stamatogiannis